54 ★★★★★ REVIEWS IN 2022
CONTACT US telephone
FREE CONSULTATION CALL
1(877)343-1031
contact us phone
menu






Calvert County Assault Lawyer

A misunderstanding can quickly result in an accused assault. If you have been accused of either first-degree or second-degree assault, a Calvert County Assault Lawyer can help craft a strong defense by evaluating all the details of the alleged event, the arrest, and the charge.

Judges in Calvert County are not hesitant to issue jail time on cases of assault; therefore, a qualified assault lawyer is essential for the proper defense needed by you in court. You may even be able to stop an assault case from ever arising if you acquire an assault lawyer before charges have even been filed. If it is a loved one of yours that has been arrested and charged with first or second-degree assault in Calvert County, then a Calvert County Assault Lawyer can also assist with regards to their release in the form of a bail review.

Charges of Assault in Calvert County

The assault laws under Maryland require specific elements to be proved before an assault conviction can be obtained. A Calvert County Assault Lawyer will know what these elements are and how to dispute these elements in court.

Assault charges can be the result of a misunderstanding of intention, a mutual altercation, misidentification, and even as an act of self-defense. Thus, when Calvert County law enforcement like Maryland State Police or a Calvert County Sheriff arrives at the scene of the alleged assault, they are legally required as part of their duty, to propose a determination, of instigator and victim, that is subjectively based on which party told their side of the story first, or through apparent injuries.

Maryland Assault Laws

Assault in a general sense is prosecuted as either first-degree assault or second-degree assault. Acts of domestic violence and sexual assault are also considered a form of assault but are generally prosecuted under laws that pertain specifically to them. While a simple charge of assault can be somewhat minor, the consequences of an assault conviction become increasingly more strict based upon the seriousness of the perceived offense.

Assault charges in Calvert County may be first-degree or second-degree assault.

First-degree assault charges may be brought in Calvert County, Maryland, if:

  • "Serious physical injury" or the attempt to cause serious physical injury.

  • In practice, first-degree assault cases result from injuries leading to hospitalization.

  • A firearm was involved.

  • A law enforcement officer was assaulted.

Second-degree assault charges in Calvert County typically involve minor injuries that do not require hospitalization, either intentionally or as a result of reckless behavior, or indeed even frightening someone or threatening to get into a fight with someone. Legally speaking, however, any battery leading to physical injury may be considered a second-degree assault. Maryland criminal law can be confusing regarding what constitutes an assault, and a criminal defense attorney can help analyze your criminal charges to explain more.

The maximum penalty for a second-degree assault charge in Calvert County, Maryland, is 10 years of incarceration and a $2,500 monetary fine. The maximum penalty for a first-degree assault charge is much higher in Anne Arundel County. While second-degree assault is considered a misdemeanor unless it involved a law enforcement officer, police officer, parole officer, corrections officer, or other person acting in an official capacity, first-degree assault (or aggravated assault) is a felony that carries a maximum penalty of 25 years in prison.

What should you do next?

Schedule a free initial consultation with one of our Calvert County assault attorneys. This will enable you to find out what you can expect from the legal process. An experienced calvert assault lawyer will review the charging document issued in your case and prevent you from having a misdemeanor conviction on your record.

Get in Touch with a Calvert County Assault Lawyer

If you are charged with assault, you should quickly contact a Calvert County Assault Lawyer - due to the broad scope of assault penalties and charges that exist. If you are eager to learn more about assault defense in Calvert County, their legal teams offer 24/7 service and a free consultation. Whether your case arose in Prince Frederick, Chesapeake Beach, Solomons, or another part of Calvert county, we can help. Call us for a free consultation.